Pulling a vacuum on a heat pump with a recovery machine

In summary, in order to safely debraze a compressor from a heat pump, it is important to recover refrigerant using a recovery machine until the pressure on the compound gauge reaches 10 Hg vacuum. Then, the machine should be turned off and left for 10 minutes to allow any remaining refrigerant to come out of solution or diffuse out of surfaces. This process ensures that all refrigerant and oil is successfully recovered from the heat pump.
fourthindiana
TL;DR Summary
When I am recovering refrigerant from a heat pump with a recovery machine, why do I have to turn off the recovery machine and wait 10 minutes once I reach 10 Hg?
I am a student attending an HVAC program at a trade school. Today I recovered refrigerant out of a heat pump in order to debraze the compressor out of the heat pump. My instructor has taught me how to use a recovery machine to recover refrigerant out of an air-conditioner or heat pump before. My instructor tells me to recover refrigerant out of the heat pump until the pressure on the compound gauge of my gauge manifold reaches 10 Hg. Then I must turn off the recovery machine and wait for 10 min and watch to see if the pressure on my compound gauge goes back up. If the pressure in the heat pump goes back up, there is still refrigerant in the heat pump, and I need to continue recovering refrigerant from the heat pump. If the pressure in the heat pump stays at 10 Hg vacuum for 10 minutes, then there is no more refrigerant in the heat pump, and it is safe to start debrazing the compressor on the heat pump.