Pursuing a PhD Abroad: Benefits and Challenges

• Programs
  • Thread starter SchroedingersLion
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Phd
In summary, the conversation discussed the differences in the structure and duration of PhD programs in different countries, particularly between Germany and the US. It was mentioned that in Germany, a Masters degree is required before starting a PhD program, while in the US, the Masters program is often integrated into the PhD and can take longer. The question was raised about the possibility of skipping coursework to reduce the time needed for a PhD, but it was mentioned that in most US graduate departments, this is not allowed. Some participants also shared their personal experiences with transferring credits from a Masters degree. Overall, it was noted that policies and requirements vary among different schools and departments in the US.
SchroedingersLion
Hey guys,

I am a German physics student in my masters studies. In Germany, we have a 3 year B.Sc. and a 2 year M.Sc. program, and both are needed to start the PhD, which usually takes around 3 to 4 years.
I wanted to do my PhD somewhere far away, but now I got to know that in the US, the PhD takes at least around 5 years, because it has most of the masters program integrated, which is why they usually start after the B.Sc.

Now I wonder if you can usually skip parts of the course work to reduce the time needed for the PhD in such a case?

If not, do you know countries where the PhD usually starts after the M.Sc. (just like in Germany)? Canada, Australia?

Best regards

Physics news on Phys.org
The duration depends more on advisers and the policy of particular institutes than on the country, I think. In Japan, physics PhD starts after M.Sc. but the PhD students often don't get paid and it's probably difficult without significant preparation in language and culture.

SchroedingersLion said: