Quantitative Meaning of Ricci Tensor

In summary, the Ricci tensor is a mathematical term that describes the deviation in volume as a space is affected by gravity. It is only relevant if the geodesic belongs to an irrotational, shear-free time-like geodesic congruence. Otherwise, other factors such as vorticity and shear will also play a role in the evolution of the volume of the geodesic ball.
flyinjoe
Hello,

I am studying general relativity right now and I am very curious about the Ricci tensor and its meaning. I keep running into definitions that explain how the Ricci tensor describes the deviation in volume as a space is affected by gravity. However, I have yet to find any quantitative explanation of this definition. How can volume differences be calculated with the Ricci tensor? What role does the Ricci tensor play in the volume changes?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
flyinjoe said:
I am studying general relativity right now and I am very curious about the Ricci tensor and its meaning. I keep running into definitions that explain how the Ricci tensor describes the deviation in volume as a space is affected by gravity. However, I have yet to find any quantitative explanation of this definition. How can volume differences be calculated with the Ricci tensor? What role does the Ricci tensor play in the volume changes?
In general there's no such relationship. Maybe you're talking about a cosmological situation, in which the expansion rate of the universe can be related to the matter density? Please give us a quote/reference where you found this.

Hi Bill,

Thanks for the response. In this paper:
http://arxiv.org/pdf/gr-qc/0401099v1.pdf
the author writes, "So in roughly the same sense that the Riemann tensor governs the evolution of a vector or a displacement parallel propagated along a geodesic, the Ricci tensor governs the evolution of a small volume parallel propagated along a geodesic."