Quantum Leaping & Perpetual Motion?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of perpetual motion and how it relates to the principles of quantum physics. The speaker wonders if the phenomenon of quantum leaping, where electrons seem to disappear and reappear, could be evidence of perpetual motion in the atomic system. However, another participant in the conversation suggests that the concept of quantum leaping is often misunderstood and that it is important to have a basic understanding of quantum mechanics before speculating. They also clarify that quantum leaping refers to a sudden transition from one state to another, not a literal leap into another dimension.
Kryptech
Hi all Ill start with saying I am very new to all this. I am a very geometric oriented person and I view things as images and not equations. So most times I can figure out and know how things work but I just can't explain how they work in terms or equations. I have just started studying quantum physics and could possibly use some adjustments to my perception in the matter so I could be misunderstanding but here goes... I am wondering if I could get the opinions and teachings of some people here who are allot smarter than I :redface: about this thought that popped into my mind. Again... maybe this is already out there as part of a theorem but as I stated I am new and haven't study in depth yet about quantum physics.

So on the thought of perpetual motion. We have seen and heard much about this "coined" phrase of perpetual motion. Most people don't understand its implications and thus use the term incorrectly when speaking about a well engineered system that "appears" perpetual at the finite moment but in actuality is a digression of energy rather then a constant with no loss.