Question about conservation of linear momentum

In summary, the ball will collide inelastically with the rod and the rod will start rotating. The angular momentum of the system will be conserved, but linear momentum will not be.
RoboNerd

Homework Statement

2016-04-26.png

[pardon my crude drawing]

Say I have a ball that hits the a rod at rest pivoted around hinge A. The ball in the diagram is the solid black, and the rod is the thin line in the diagram and is rotating around the square-shaped hinge at the bottom. I am not an artist but that is not the point.

The ball will collide inelastically with the rod, and the rod will start rotating. I know angular momentum would be conserved, but would linear momentum be conserved too?

Homework Equations

conservation of linear momentum. Pi = Pf

The Attempt at a Solution

Logical reasoning attempts.

[/B]
Thanks so much in advance for the help

Physics news on Phys.org
The law of conservation of linear momentum states that the total linear momentum of a system will be conserved if the net __________ acting on the system is zero.

Can you fill in the blank?

force

Yes. More specifically, "external force". So, if there is a nonzero external force acting on the system, the linear momentum of the system will not be conserved.

To apply this idea, you need to be clear on what you take to be the system. In particular, what objects are included in the system.

I noticed in your statement of the problem that you mention a hinge A which appears in your drawing to be located at the top of the rod. But you state that the rod rotates about a hinge at the bottom of the rod. I'm a little confused about that. Is there only one hinge?

Yeah sorry, my drawing is a little confusing. Forget the words "hinge a" and assume the hinge is at the bottom of the rod.

I assume my rod and my ball are in a system.