Question about variations of the Sun's path over long periods of time

In summary, Evan Peters is looking for information on shadows cast from the sun in 2020. He is in need of technical support to validate a method being used in the film. Evan is also looking for links to more information on shadows cast from the sun in 2020. He is a filmmaker writing a screenplay and is in Earth Science, Astronomy, and Opticks forums. He is asking for help with plausibility. Google search terms include precession and nutation of Earth axis, Polar motion, True polar wander, and clocks and watches of the time might drift 1-2 minutes per day. He is reminded of a real life incident where he traveled from New York to Indiana and had to adjust to multiple time zones
evanbpeters
TL;DR Summary
Do shadows remain the same throughout time over hundreds of years?
Hello. I am a filmmaker writing a screenplay and I am in need of technical support to validate a method being used in the film.

I am going to post this in the Earth Science forum but I'll copy it here, in case anyone reading this might know.

Thank you all!

"I am wondering if shadows cast from the sun in 1880 would be the same in 2020? For example, would the shadow of a mountain be in the same spot on May 1, 1880, 12:00 p.m. as it would be on May 1, 2020, 12:00 p.m. (given that the mountain's shape has not changed)?"

Earth sciences news on Phys.org
Well, it depends partly on the weather and on the atmospheric detrita (e.g. pollen or pollution), but otherwise yes, pretty much exactly.

Likes evanbpeters
Hello. I am wondering if shadows cast from the sun in 1880 would be the same in 2020? For example, would the shadow of a mountain be in the same spot on May 1, 1880, 12:00 p.m. as it would be on May 1, 2020, 12:00 p.m. (given that the mountain's shape has not changed)?"

Any help would be appreciated. I would love links to info/studies on this too, if anyone has them.

Thank you,

Evan

Thank you. This is very helpful and good news.