[Question] Did I figure out the Space Shuttle's momentum?

In summary, the Space Shuttle has a linear momentum of 127,750,000,000 pounds/93,254,001,512 kilogram-meters per second while in orbit.
TandN51316
Please bare with me as I'm a beginner with this stuff, and am just learning lol But I was wondering if I did the right math to figure out the momentum of the Space Shuttle.

Linear Momentum, in classical mechanics, is the product of the mass (the measure of an objects resistance to acceleration when a net force is applied - not to be confused with weight) and velocity (the rate of change of an object's position with respect to a reference frame) of an object. It is 'dimensionally equivalent' (meaning length, mass, time, electric charge, and units of measurement such as miles, km, lbs and kgs) to impulse (the product of force and time, or essentially the result of a force applied over a specific amount of time). Linear momentum is a conserved quantity, meaning that is a closed system is not affected by external forces, its total linear momentum cannot/does not change.

Shuttle Mass-
4,470,000 pounds

SRB Mass (Both SRB's)-
1,300,000 pounds each

External Tank Mass (LOX and LH2)-
1,530,000 pounds

Total Mass-
7,300,000 pounds
(3,311,224 kilograms)

Distance to space-
62 Miles
(99,779 Meters)

Space Shuttle Orbital Velocity-
17,500 MPH
(28,163 KMH)

Time taken to get to space-
8 1/2 Minutes

Linear Momentum- (Product of mass and velocity)
127,750,000,000 pounds/93,254,001,512 kilogram-meters per second

Physics news on Phys.org
So what exactly is the question here that we are allowing you to "bare" with?

Zz.

Whether or not I did the right math to figure out the momentum of the Space Shuttle. I looked up the mass and velocity of the shuttle and multiplied them.

TandN51316 said:
Whether or not I did the right math to figure out the momentum of the Space Shuttle. I looked up the mass and velocity of the shuttle and multiplied them.