Questions Regarding a Semester Project

In summary, the lecturer suggests including a semester project for an undergraduate course that consists of a presentation and a written report. He suggests that there should be a team of three students and that the grading criteria should be provided to the students in advance.
sams
Gold Member
I want to include a semester project for an undergraduate course for this semester. As a new lecturer, I was wondering about several aspects of this project and I would like to gain a deep insight of the following:

1. What subjects should I choose? Should they be related to the topics that are being taught during the semester (which I prefer to do) or not? What if these subjects, I chose, were advanced to the students, because I am concerned that some of the students may find it hard to prepare one of these subjects?

2. In fact, it is a Team Based Learning project that consists of a presentation and a written report, how many students do you suggest should be in each team, if the total number of students in the class is 20, in order to prevent any issues during their preparations? Note: The students come from different fields: physics, mathematics, and engineering!

3. Most importantly, 15% of the final grade will be allocated to this project which is equivalent to 15 points out of 100, how do you think should be the grading criteria of the project and how do you suggest to distribute the points according to your suggested grading criteria? I want to make a distribution that would be fair and reasonable. I really appreciate if anyone could provide a detailed criterion as well as a fair distribution. The grading criteria should be provided to students in advance prior the start of their preparations.

Any advice, suggestions, other aspects I should consider, or sharing your experience (if possible) is much appreciated

Science news on Phys.org