Final year raytracer project ideas

In summary: If you want to learn computer graphics, I suggest that you start by studying some of the basic tutorials and then trying to implement some of the things you learned in your own projects.In summary, the person is interested in developing a ray tracer as a final year project, but does not have any experience in the computer science side of the field. They suggest starting with the existing tools and learning about the instructor's desired outcome.
ellipsoid
TL;DR Summary
raytracer project ideas for final year university project
Hi there. I am about to enter my final year of a computer science bachelor degree and must do a final year project that spans most of the academic year. I have some experience on the artistic side of computer graphics but none in the computer science side. I would be interested in developing some kind of ray tracer as a final year project but have been told that my project should be technically challenging, have a reason for someone to use my version over any existing version and solve some kind of particular problem.

Perhaps I am out of my depth trying to develop a ray tracer that can satisfy the above criteria when I have no prior experience?

Some have talked about making one that runs better than existing solutions or being optimised for something in particular. I am not quite sure how I could do this and would greatly appreciate and thoughts, ideas or suggestions on this or any unique relatively unexplored areas of raytracing I could base a project around?

Many thanks

Technology news on Phys.org
ellipsoid said:
I am about to enter my final year of a computer science bachelor degree
ellipsoid said:
I have some experience on the artistic side of computer graphics but none in the computer science side
How in the world are you going to graduate with a BS in Computer Science with no experience in Computer Science? That would seem to make no sense.

ellipsoid said: