Rigorous Precalculus and Calculus Textbooks + Intro to Linear Algebra

In summary: For people who are starting college in the late 2010s or 2020s, this rigor may be unfamiliar or too hard. Textbooks that introduce those topics are not written in a rigorous fashion, so it may be impractical to find an introductory text that meets your standards.
PFuser1232
I am currently studying A level Further Pure Mathematics, and I will be joining university next year. I want to brush up on precalculus (algebra, trigonometry, geometry) and calculus (differential, integral [single variable]), except that this time I need a more rigorous treatment of those topics. Most of what I covered in high school was very computational, with barely any focus on mathematical rigor. I am also looking for a good introduction to linear algebra textbook.What textbooks would you recommend?

Physics news on Phys.org
Spivak or Apostol calculus? Serge Lang basic mathematics for pre cal.

For linear algebra. There is a book mathwonk recommends (Math professor at a university who frequents this forum). The book is called Elementary Linear Algebra by Paul Shields. It is not rigorous, but it is by no means a trial book. USE this book first then Serge Lang Linear Algebra?

MidgetDwarf said:
Spivak or Apostol calculus? Serge Lang basic mathematics for pre cal.

Is Spivak Calculus better than Simmons/Stewart Calculus?

Yes but it is more of the theory behind calculus book. In other words spivak is introductory analysis light. Spivak is a hard book but a good one. If you have the mathematical maturity go for it. Would advice strongly against spivak if you are not there yet. An older version of thomas with analytic geometry would be best. Are you still in highchool?

MidgetDwarf said: