RIP Charlie Watts (Rolling Stones)

In summary, the conversation revolved around the memories of a high school student getting tickets to the Tattoo You tour. The student was offered a large sum of money for their ticket voucher but turned it down, thinking it would be the last Rolling Stones tour. The death of Charlie Watts, the drummer for the Rolling Stones, was also discussed, with tributes and memories shared by those who knew and admired him. His unique drumming style and loyalty to the band were highlighted, making him an integral part of the Stones' sound.
robphy
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Gold Member
As a high school student, I remember getting tickets to the Tattoo You tour.
I was going redeem a voucher to buy tickets in New York City
(these vouchers were distributed by randomly selected self-addressed stamped envelopes).
A few blocks from the box office, I was offered $500 for my voucher.
(I think my tickets were going to cost $35 each [it turned out for the 13th row in Madison Square Garden (iirc)].
My ticket stub is packed away somewhere in my papers.)
(Maybe I was going to be robbed, I don't know.)
But I turned it down because (for some reason)
I thought this was going to be the last Rolling Stones tour.
Well... I guess it didn't turn out to be so.
My ears were ringing all night.

RIP Charlie Watts.

• Love
Likes pinball1970, Astronuc and BWV
Physics news on Phys.org
😢

Likes Astronuc
USA Today, Music, did some nice pieces on Watts.
https://www.usatoday.com/story/ente...howcase-charlie-watts-magic-drums/5576698001/
There’s a great line in John Hiatt’s 1988 song “Slow Turning,” where the protagonist is in his car trying to listen to the radio but suddenly wheels around: “I’m yelling at the kids in the back seat/Because they’re banging like Charlie Watts.”