RLC Circuit lab equipment problem

In summary, the technician is having trouble getting two channels of an oscilloscope to Resonate. He has tried different oscilloscopes, frequency generators, resistance boxes, and connections, but the results are the same. He thinks that the problem may be with the equipment, but he is not sure. He is trying to find a way to fix the problem by tomorrow.
spaceid
Hello all,

I am a lab technician for a university and I am having some problem with some lab equipment. We are doing an RLC circuit lab with a frequency generator, oscilloscope, decade resistance box, capacitance box, and inductor. The equipment is connected in series, except for the oscilloscope. The oscilloscope channel 1 is connected to the frequency generator for the whole system and channel 2 is connected to the resistance box first. The resistance box is at 100 ohms, the capictance box is at 1 microFarad and the inductor is 0.24H.

Now when I turn on all of the equipment I get two sine waves on the oscilloscope. What is supposed to happen is that as I increase the frequency the sine waves go in and out of resonance. The amplitudes will change sizes and so will the wavelengths. I have resonance at about 1000Hz.

However, for some reason this does not always happen. Sometimes when everything is set up correctly, the sine waves start in resonance and never go out of resonance as I increase the frequency. The wavelengths get longer, but the amplitudes never changes. Today, I had them in resonance, but the amplitude was very low across the resistor giving me a voltage of 0.019V, which didn't make sense. I checked my connections and then turned everything on again and now I cannot get the channels out of resonance, however the voltage reading is better. I have tried different oscilloscopes, frequency generators, resistance boxes, and connections and it does not make a difference. I still get the same results.