S4.6r.11 Solid of revolution about the y axis

In summary, given:$x_1^2-y^2=a^2, \ \ x_2=a+h$$The volume of a washer is given by:dV=\pi\left((a+h)^2-\left(y^2+a^2\right)\right)\,dy.
karush
Gold Member
MHB
Given
$$x_1^2 -y^2=a^2, \ \ x_2=a+h$$
Or
$$x_1=\sqrt{a^2+y^2}$$

Find
Volume about the $y$-axis

So...

$$\pi\int_{a}^{h} \left(x_2^2-x_1^2\right)\,dy$$

Actually I am clueless?!

Physics news on Phys.org
Is that how the problem is given in your textbook?

Well, that's clear as floodwaters, my friend! (Nod)

Can you humor me for a little bit here and give the problem exactly as stated? (Mmm)

Okay, now we're in bidness...and your inclination to use the washer method is a good one...but you know, when I was a student, I like to work problems like these more than one way (we could use the shell method as well) both for the prctice and as a means of checking my result.

Let's begin with the washer method. The value of an element (a washer) is given by:

\(\displaystyle dV=\pi(R^2-r^2)\)

where $R$ is the outer radius and $r$ is the inner radius. Can you identify these two radii?

I assume $R$ is the major radius or $x_2$
And $r$ is the minor radius or $x_1$

No I'm not sure?

This thing has $a$ and $h$ in it😠😠

karush said:
I assume $R$ is the major radius or $x_2$
And $r$ is the minor radius or $x_1$

No I'm not sure?

This thing has $a$ and $h$ in it😠😠

First, it is often very helpful to draw a sketch:

View attachment 5539

Now, we see the outer radius is:

\(\displaystyle R=a+h\)

and the inner radius is:

\(\displaystyle r=x\)

And so we have:

\(\displaystyle dV=\pi\left((a+h)^2-x^2\right)\,dy\) (I forgot to include the thickness of the washer before)

Now, the expression $a+h$ is a constant, so we don't need to do anything with that. However, since we will be integrating along the $y$-axis, we need to express $x^2$ in terms of $y$...(Thinking)

Attachments

• karush_revolve.png
    karush_revolve.png
    1.6 KB · Views: 55
Sorry,I got lost in this,