Scope for Quantum Information theory - Graduate school and beyond

In summary, the conversation revolves around a student in Europe who is researching graduate schools and essays on how to become a physicist. They are now searching for a PhD position and have a few questions about the scope and employability of Quantum Information Theory (QIT). They also mention their interest in computational work in QIT and ask for any useful links. The conversation then shifts to discussing research being done in quantum computing and cryptography, and the potential for employment in these fields. The conversation ends with the student expressing their interest in pursuing computational work and mentioning a few companies working in quantum cryptography.
Wolfgang2b
Hi,
I am a student in Europe. I have been reading through the posts on Graduate schools and the essays like the one by Zapper on how to become a physicist. I am now in the stage of searching for a PhD position.

1. I would like to know what you guys think about the scope of Quantum Information theory (QIT). As I read through the discussions, I could understand the caution against doing String theory etc. But is theoretical QIT also not an easily “employable” field? Or should I aim to be in experimental QIT?

2. Also I would like to know if someone knows of computational work being done in QIT. Admittedly one of the reasons for the field of quantum computing is due to the fact that QM cannot be “satisfactorily” simulated by classical computers. But I would still like to know if there is any work that is done in the field of QIT, where they simulate QM systems may be to build new experiments etc. Any links will be useful.

Thanks a lot in advance for your reply.

Physics news on Phys.org