Second derivative of friction force question

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of friction force per unit volume in boundary layers and its relation to the free stream velocity and boundary thickness. It is mentioned that the friction force per unit volume is represented by ##\partial \tau/\partial y## and is proportional to ##\mu\dfrac{\partial^2 u}{\partial y^2}##. The discussion also explains the reasoning behind the second derivative being proportional to delta^2 and the correct interpretation of this relationship.
fahraynk
I'm studying boundary layers. I am confused by what I am reading in this book.

The book says the friction force (F) per unit volume = $$\frac{dF}{dy}=\mu\frac{d^2U}{dy^2}$$
They say $$\frac{dU}{dy}=\frac{U_\infty}{\delta}$$

This makes sense to me, delta is the thickness in the y direction, and the velocity is 0 at the airfoil (or whatever object) and it equals the freestream velocity after the boundary thickness delta. so du/dy being proportional to the free stream velocity divided by the thickness makes sense.
But then they say this : $$\frac{d^2U}{dy^2} =\mu\frac{U_\infty}{\delta^2}$$

Can someone explain why the second derivative is proportional to delta^2 ?
Is it that, delta represents the thickness y, and so the second derivative of 1/y = -1/y^2, and we just ignore the negative?

Attachments

• upload_2017-4-29_17-46-23.png
    upload_2017-4-29_17-46-23.png
    12.4 KB · Views: 456
Physics news on Phys.org
Well for one, friction force per unit volume is not ##dF/dy## as you have written it. It is ##\partial \tau/\partial y##. The difference is important, because ##F## is a force, and ##\tau## is a stress. The units don't work out if you use ##F##.

So then the friction force per unit volume is
[tex]\dfrac{\partial \tau}{\partial y} = \mu\dfrac{\partial^2 u}{\partial y^2}.[/tex]
So, if you've already come to terms with the fact that
[tex]\dfrac{\partial u}{\partial y} \sim \dfrac{U_{\infty}}{\delta},[/tex]