Should I learn Algebraic Topology?

In summary, the conversation revolved around the topic of topology and its relevance to physics. The speaker mentioned their interest in learning more about topology and how it relates to their studies in physics. They received recommendations for books and were advised to have some background in real analysis and differential geometry before diving into topology. The conversation also touched on the usefulness of topology in physics and its connection to string theory and general relativity. Overall, the speakers agreed that studying topology is beneficial for developing abstract thinking skills and can have practical applications in physics.
wotanub
I'm a phyiscs student and I have been looking at these lectures:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL6763F57A61FE6FE8

But I have never learned anything about topology before and was he covers doesn't look like the Topology chapter in my mathematical physics book. I was looking for something maybe for undergrad math majors that goes a little more slowly than my book. This seems to be the pace I want but, while interesting, doesn't seem to be the same topic.

The book starts with what is an open set, neighborhoods, ect but the videos are just talking about shapes. He said this stuff is relevant to physics, but I'm wondering if I'm missing the fundamental stuff? I've just finished studying algebra (in the modern sense).

Physics news on Phys.org
You have to learn point-set topology before attempting algebraic topology. If you don't already know point-set topology then start with that. Algebraic topology courses will already assume you know it.