Should I take AP Biology on top of my other science classes?

• Thread starter jbmiller
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Biology
In summary: For example, in biochemistry, you learn about the chemical reactions that occur in cells and how the cells use these reactions to function. This knowledge can be easily applied to the study of physiology, which is the study of how the cells work in different parts of the body.
jbmiller
Hey everyone,

I'm currently a freshman in high school and I'm taking Biology. I was wondering if taking the AP Biology next year would be a good idea. This would be on top of my two other science classes; Pre-AP Chem and Pre-AP Physics.

My current Biology classes is very easy. This is partially due to the fact that the teacher is awful. He gives us packets and has us just "figure" them out. We don't even have to do a single probelm on it and we automatically get a 100% on it. The test are very simple and require no knowledge of Biology. Just simple common sense. I have a solid A in Biology..

Would taking AP Biology be a good idea? The teacher would probably assume we've throughly learned the material needed as a prerequisite to AP Biology, which isn't the case.

My interest are in sciences, but not particulary in Biology, mainly Chemistry and Physics.

*Sorry for the horrid spelling and grammar. I wrote this whole thing and it suddenly just dissappeared...so I just kind of winged what I wrote above.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'd say it's certainly worth taking, as long as it isn't bumping something out of your schedule that you'd rather take. High school is about getting a broad base of knowledge. You never know when it might come in useful.