Simultaneity (Special Relativity)

In summary, the conversation discusses a question about relativity and the solution involves using Lorentz transformations and Minkowski diagrams. Two equations are also shared for finding the velocity of an inertial frame where two events happen at the same time or in the same place. Ultimately, the solution to the question is -c/2.
rpardo
Hi guys,

I'm studying for a midterm and i decided to do some problems for practice and I'm stuck on a fairly simple one

"The space and time coordinates of two events as measured in a frame S are as follows:
Event 1 (x,0,0) @ t=x/c
Event 2 (2x,0,0) @ t=x/2c

There exists a frame in which these events occur at the same time. Fin d the velocity of this frame with respect to S."

The solution is -c/2

For my solution I set event 1 as S and event 2 as S'
For them to be simultaneous I also set t=t'
I equated the L.E transformations and my solution is -c/6

Any help would be greatly appreciated

P.S I also tried drawing a Minkowskian diagram and figuring out the slope of the time-constant line (linking the two-event points) however this gives me the x'-axis equation and not the t'-axis equation which is what i would need to figure out the velocity.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi, I hope this isn't too late. By the way, you might get more of a response if you post a relativity question in the "special and general relativity" forum. Thinking in terms of a Lorentz transformation:

[tex]t'=\gamma\left ( \frac{x}{c}-\frac{x}{c}\frac{v}{c}\right )=\gamma\left ( \frac{x}{2c}-\frac{2x}{c}\frac{v}{c} \right )[/tex]

[tex]x-x\frac{v}{c}=\frac{x}{2}-2x\frac{v}{c}[/tex]

[tex]\frac{x}{2}=-x\frac{v}{c}[/tex]

[tex]v=-\frac{c}{2}.[/tex]