Solve First Year Harmonic Motion Problem: Cylinder Rolling

In summary: The solution for the sliding case is: ω = √(k/M). However, for the rolling case, there is an additional rotational energy term that must be taken into account. The correct value of ω for the rolling case is ω = √(k/M + (1/2)(M)(R^2)/I), where I is the moment of inertia of the cylinder. In summary, the conversation discussed a practice problem related to harmonic motion and work + energy. The question involved a cylinder rolling without slipping and attached to a spring, and the goal was to find the value of ω consistent with constant total energy. The conversation also provided tips for properly conceptualizing and approaching problems in a first year university course
Xiothus
Homework Statement
Hey guys, I'm a first year university student and I'm having trouble with this practice problem. I don't even really know where to start and thought this would be a good place to post for some help. The question is relating to harmonic motion and work + energy and goes as follows:
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Question:
A cylinder of mass M and radius R has an axle through its center. The
cylinder rolls without slipping back and forth along the x-axis. It has a
moment of inertia of (1/2)(M)(R^2). The axle is attached to a spring of spring constant k.
The origin is the place at which the mass experiences no force.
The cylinder is observed to undergo harmonic motion in the form x =A cos (ωt + φ).
What value of ω is consistent with the total energy being
constant?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Relevant Equations
Circular motion equations + work and energy equations + angular momentum equations: up to first year university.
x = A cos (ωt + φ)
v = -Aωsin (ωt + φ)
a = -A(ω^2)cos (ωt + φ)