Solving Schrödinger's equation for a hydrogen atom with Euler's method

In summary, @Tuca said that you need to know the energy eigenvalues beforehand or find the correct energy by trial and error (which is called "shooting method" and can utilize Euler's method or some other finite difference scheme). The correct eigenvalues make the wavefunction approach zero when ##r\rightarrow\infty##, as should be for physically possible states. @Hello said that you can use Euler's method only for spherically symmetric eigenstates of the H atom, and you also need to either know the energy eigenvalues beforehand or find the correct energy by trial and error (which is called "shooting method" and can utilize Euler's method or some other finite difference scheme
Tuca
Hi, first-time poster here

I'm a student at HS-level in DK, who has decided to write my annual large scale assignment on Schrödinger's equation. My teacher has only given us a brief introduction to the equation and has tasked us to solve it numerically with Euler's method for the hydrogen atom. He rewrote the equation on to a form I simply cannot seem to find online or anywhere else. My knowledge of using Euler's method for second-order ODEs is very sparse too. I have attached the equation. If someone can please help me understand, how I must use Euler's method on this specific form, I would be very thankful.

Thank you
1614103604353.png

Physics news on Phys.org
You can use Euler's method only for spherically symmetric eigenstates of the H atom, and you also need to either know the energy eigenvalues beforehand or find the correct energy by trial and error (which is called "shooting method" and can utilize Euler's method or some other finite difference scheme). The correct eigenvalues make the wavefunction approach zero when ##r\rightarrow\infty##, as should be for physically possible states.

Hello @Tuca ,
:welcome: !​