Solving the Mystery of Simultaneity: A Relativity Question

• B
  • Thread starter TheQuestionGuy14
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Simultaneity
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of simultaneity in Special Relativity and how it can be understood through the example of a man and an alien separated by millions of light years. The disagreement arises when the alien synchronizes his clocks using the speed of light, leading to a difference in perception of the present moment. The concept of time travel is also brought up, but it is explained that it is impossible to go back in time due to the limitations of the speed of light. The confusion is clarified by explaining that the alien does not actually see the future, but rather can only conclude what has happened based on the signal reaching him.
TheQuestionGuy14
Hey! So basically I studied General Relativity for a while and was moving on to Special Relativity and there's one thing in it that I can't seem to understand, simultaneity.

So I've seen videos explaining it with a train, an observer in the moving train and an observer outside the train as the train gets struck by two lightning bolts. I understand how they see the events differently and are both right as time is dilated as light must always travel at the same speed. I get that, but when you take light out of the equation, and make it a larger distance, I really get confused, here's an example:

So, if you watch the video, there is a man and an alien, many millions of lightyears apart. When they are stationary, time moves the same relative to each other, yet when the alien cycles away, his 'now' is now our 200 years ago. How does this make sense? How can alien or any being far away deciding to take a cycle make their now so different to ours? Also if his now is our 200 years ago, has he just time traveled technically? Sorry if this sounds like madness but it really confuses me.

I hope someone here would be able to help me!

Physics news on Phys.org