Squared numbers and square root (Need help with explaination)

In summary, the speed of light is squared in E=mc^2 because it is the speed at which energy travels in a vacuum. Square roots come into equations like time dilation because they allow for quantities of energy to be matched with quantities of mass. Excluding the square root and y^x in equations can lead to errors in calculations.
Mulz
Can anyone tell me why for example the speed of light is squared in "E=mc^2" ?
Also what does square root mean and why is it in certain equations like for example time dilation?

What happens if you exclude the square root and the y^x in a equation?

I am still studying high school physics, but it would be nice for someone to explain it.

Physics news on Phys.org
The square and square roots come into the equations as a result of their derivations from the basic premise of special relativity that the speed of light is the same for all observers.

Start by reading the Wikipedia article on special relativity to see how they come into play:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_relativity

In math square and square root are complementary operations like adding and subtracting or multiplying and dividing. There is nothing inherently special about them.

However they are very useful. As an example, square roots are used in calculus as a stand-in for absolute value.

jedishrfu said:
T There is nothing inherently special about them.

However they are very useful. As an example, square roots are used in calculus as a stand-in for absolute value.

Could you explain further? I confess I have no idea what that means.

sophiecentaur said:
Could you explain further? I confess I have no idea what that means.

My apologies I wasn't clear enough, I was thinking of the abs(x) = sqrt(x^2) substitution.