Summer Opportunities for an Undergrad Sophomore

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore majoring in physics and mathematics with a high GPA and experience as a tutor and lab assistant. They have one publication and are interested in pursuing a graduate program and eventually a Ph.D. in Astrophysics or Planetary Science. They are currently looking for research opportunities for the summer, but were not accepted into any REU programs and are seeking advice on where to look for opportunities. Another individual in a similar situation offers encouragement and shares their own search for internships in their field.
stepheckert
I am a sophomore physics and mathematics major at a very small, private liberal arts school. I currently have a 3.82 cumulative GPA and have taken all the intro level physics and math classes, and am now entering upper level classes. I am a white female. I work as a physics/math tutor and also an introductory level physics lab assistant. I have one publication coming out in April. I am looking to enter a graduate program and eventually a Ph.D. program in Astrophysics, Planetary Science, or something of the like.

The one thing my resume is lacking is research experience. I am very interested in research for the summer, but do not have many opportunities at my school, so I applied to a couple of REU programs. I was unfortunately not accepted to any of them, and feel a bit discouraged. I would really like to do SOMETHING physics related this summer, preferable to astronomy or astro, but I will take any job math/physics related that I can get.

I was wondering if any of you on the forum had any suggestions of programs that I might still be able to apply for, places I might look for an opportunity, or just how to go about asking for opportunities? I really appreciate any help.

Steph

Physics news on Phys.org