The atomic Coulomb potential extends to infinity?

In summary: Is the "Introduction to Nuclear Physics" written by Kennet S. Krane, I believe is a good bookYes, I like it too
aaronll
I'm studying nuclear physics in a text, but at one point that is said: "Both the Coulomb potential that binds the atom and the resulting electronic charge distribution extends to infinity" , I don't understand what is that "resulting electronic charge distribution extends to infinity" what they mean? ( maybe I misunderstand the phrase but i don't know)
thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
aaronll said:
I'm studying nuclear physics in a text, but at one point that is said: "Both the Coulomb potential that binds the atom and the resulting electronic charge distribution extends to infinity" , I don't understand what is that "resulting electronic charge distribution extends to infinity" what they mean? ( maybe I misunderstand the phrase but i don't know)
thanks

I assume by "charge distribution" it means the wave-function for the electron. And, theoretically the spatial wave-function for the electron is non-zero everywhere. I.e. no matter how far the distance from the nucleus, there is still a non-zero probability of detecting the electron there.

In practical terms, of course, the electron probability distribution drops off to nearly zero very quickly - of the order of magnitude of a few times the Bohr radius.

Likes Lord Jestocost, vanhees71 and aaronll
PeroK said:
I assume by "charge distribution" it means the wave-function for the electron. And, theoretically the spatial wave-function for the electron is non-zero everywhere. I.e. no matter how far the distance from the nucleus, there is still a non-zero probability of detecting the electron there.

In practical terms, of course, the electron probability distribution drops off to nearly zero very quickly - of the order of magnitude of a few times the Bohr radius.
Thank you