The implications and issues behind high-level nuclear waste management

In summary, the conversation discusses the technical, ethical, and legal implications surrounding high-level nuclear waste management. The speaker is a designer working on a project focused on finding alternative solutions for nuclear waste. They need to research and understand the complexities of nuclear physics, legislation, ethics, politics, and economics related to the issue. The conversation also includes questions about extracting energy from nuclear waste, transforming radioactivity into electricity, and the laws surrounding the possession of nuclear waste. Ultimately, it is mentioned that anyone can own a license to handle nuclear waste, but it is heavily regulated due to its dangerous nature.
reptkeu
Hello,

This topic is an open discussion around the technical, ethical and legal implications and issues behind high-level nuclear waste management.

I am a designer working on a project aimed at exploring the future of nuclear waste, by proposing alternative ways of dealing with the issue. For this project, I need to research and understand certain particularities about nuclear physics, especially the ones behind radioactive waste, but also the legislation, ethics, politics, and economics around the issue. The internet is full of information, but most of it is either too complicated (papers by scientists), or too simplified (papers by journalists). I have started this topic with the hope to get help from the Physics Forum community. And, instead of being specific to my project, keeping the discussion open would potentially benefit a greater number of people.

Let's have an interesting discussion.

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Question 1
I know that high-level radioactive waste still contains a lot of energy (otherwise it wouldn't be radioactive, right), what are the simplest ways to extract this energy?

Question 2