Thermodynamics College Project

In summary, a user on the forum is seeking help with their project to create a WaterCooled Computer and study the thermodynamic phenomena within the PC. They are in the second year of a scientific preparatory school and are looking for guidance on how to approach the subject. The project's theme is optimization and the user is considering using oil instead of water for better conduction. They have asked for an update on the project's progress and any current problems.
mEnthalpy
Hi there,

After spending a lot of time reading topics on the forum, and knowing that I have a TIPE( Project in French Prep School Prior to entering engineering big schools) to do for the year (I am in 2nd year of scientific preparatory school ( So i am 19 )) I decided to launch a project to create a WaterCooled Computer and study the thermodynamic phenomena within the PC, ie d: How does it really work ??! ( Thermal Exchanges, Work Etc..)

For the moment I still have fuzzy ideas to approach the subject, I was hoping i could get some help from people in the forum especially on how to approach the subject.

Anyway, tell me what you think of the project as the theme of the year is (optimality: Choice, Constraints, Random) in my case, i will try o optimize the PC to reach low cpu, gpu temperatures..
Sorry for my english..

Thank you.

Science news on Phys.org
It might be easier to use oil instead of water, since water is a better conductor.

fresh_42 said:
It might be easier to use oil instead of water, since water is a better conductor.

I don't get it, our goal is to have maximum conduction to transfer the maximum amount of heat out of the cpu and the computer case, so why choose oil ?

Several months have passed since your previous posting . If your project is still being worked on then please tell us about your progress and current problems .

Related to Thermodynamics College Project

1. What is thermodynamics?