Time Dilation & Relativity: Explained for Beginners

In summary, the clock on the satellite runs slower than the clock on the Earth. This is due to the fact that the satellite is moving in a circular orbit and is affected by gravitational time dilation.
Mattv
Good morning

I'm a total beginner in physics, but I recently started to read books and watch videos about cool physics stuff, like relativity.

I heard that the closer to the speed of light you travel, the "slower" time passes for you. I'm talking about the fact that clocks in GPS satellites are late after some time.

So I don't really understand why, but I can assume that "time goes slower when you move faster". But I learned at school that speed is relative, and a spaceship moving at X speed is the same as the ship being immobile and the Earth (and the rest) going at X speed in the opposite direction.

In that case, why is the satellite clock late compared to the Earth ? And why isn't the Earth clocks late compared to the satellite ?

Thanks guys !

Physics news on Phys.org
Mattv said:
Good morning

I'm a total beginner in physics, but I recently started to read books and watch videos about cool physics stuff, like relativity.

I heard that the closer to the speed of light you travel, the "slower" time passes for you. I'm talking about the fact that clocks in GPS satellites are late after some time.

So I don't really understand why, but I can assume that "time goes slower when you move faster". But I learned at school that speed is relative, and a spaceship moving at X speed is the same as the ship being immobile and the Earth (and the rest) going at X speed in the opposite direction.

In that case, why is the satellite clock late compared to the Earth ? And why isn't the Earth clocks late compared to the satellite ?

Thanks guys !