Turbo pump - vibration and noise at a certain RPM

In summary: The vibration definitely seems to cause the scraping noise. It never occurs at any other time.The pump looks to be in excellent condition otherwise. It looks pristine inside and the bearings are smooth and not loose or tight.I’m just concerned about the noise and vibration because it doesn’t seem normal. I have never worked with a turbo pump before so learning here.Do you think I should just run it and hope for the best or definitely try rebuilding it?
Plat
I have picked up a used pfeiffer turbomolecular pump and controller for pretty cheap.

It runs like a champ, completely smooth and quiet except for when it’s first starting up.

As it approaches 5500 rpm, it starts vibrating somewhat and sometimes produces a momentary scraping noise when the vibration is worst. This noise then stops and the vibration fades away as it continues speeding up.

The vibration definitely seems to cause the scraping noise. It never occurs at any other time.

The pump looks to be in excellent condition otherwise. It looks pristine inside and the bearings are smooth and not loose or tight.I’m just concerned about the noise and vibration because it doesn’t seem normal. I have never worked with a turbo pump before so learning here.

I don’t understand why, if the vibration was caused by the rotor being off balance, wouldn’t the vibration keep getting worse at higher speeds?

Do you think I should just run it and hope for the best or definitely try rebuilding it?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Plat said:
I don’t understand why, if the vibration was caused by the rotor being off balance, wouldn’t the vibration keep getting worse at higher speeds?
could be hitting a resonant frequency of the bearings or something at that particular speed but only that speed.

Likes Lord Jestocost