UK Student Seeking Summer Placement Advice

• Thread starter lexnne
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Summer
In summary, the student is seeking advice on where to look for summer placements and what employers look for in applicants. They are particularly interested in science-oriented placements and are willing to start searching early in order to improve their chances for future PhD applications. Some suggestions for finding placements include researching companies, utilizing university resources, and developing practical skills such as programming and electronics.
lexnne
I'm currently a first year student based in the UK (Russell Group Uni), working at a first standard. I'm female, 19 (on a four year MSci course) and wondering if anyone could share some advice on where to look for placements/what said employers look for in applicants?

I know I'll probably get a few comments saying I'm being too keen and I should wait till second year to look into summer placements, but given that this area of study is something I'm passionate about and I want to put myself in the strongest possible position for when it comes to PhD applications, so preferably looking at science orientated placements (whether it's research like lab assistant, or applicable like nuclear/engineering/computer science/ect). Does anyone have any advice to share?

Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
lexnne said:
I'm currently a first year student based in the UK (Russell Group Uni), working at a first standard. I'm female, 19 (on a four year MSci course) and wondering if anyone could share some advice on where to look for placements/what said employers look for in applicants?