Understanding the Relationship Between Matter, Energy, and the Speed of Light

• Thread starter TalonD
  • Start date
  • Tags
    E=mc2
In summary: E=mc^2.In summary, the energy content of matter is related to the speed of light through the equation E=mc^2, where m is the rest mass of the object and c is the speed of light. This is due to the fact that mass and energy are proportional to each other and at speeds close to that of light, mass increases greatly. The gamma factor, used in relativistic calculations, is also a factor in this equation and is equal to 1 for an object at rest. The energy of an object at rest can be calculated using the equation E=mc^2.
TalonD
I'm a layman, not a mathmetician or physicsist so go easy on me ok?
Can somone explain in reasonably easy to understand terms, why does the energy content of some given quantity of matter depend on the speed of light? or the square of the speed of light. Why does the speed of light have anything to do with the energy content of an atom? I can understand that an object accelerated to high speed has an increase of energy and mass, but I don't understand why some object that has mass at rest (relatively at rest, with respect to you and I on the surface of the earth) why such an object would have an energy content that is dependent on C^2

Physics news on Phys.org
Try to think of c as a speed limit for the Universe, it just so happens to be the speed at which light propagates also. As to why exactly it is c, no one is entirely sure, it seems to be that it just is. As to it's relation to energy I'm sure someone else can explain it better than I, but again I think it might be a just is thing?

Oddly enough Newton was the first to suggest that energy might be related to light although he never developed the idea. Einstein wasn't even the first to coin the term e=mc^2, IIRC that came a hundred or so years before that.

Hi Talon...good question!: