Using a custom constructor in a C++ class

In summary: No, sadly we cannot use anything other than <iostream>.In summary, the problem is that the first constructor is given a char* "string" as its argument, so it should be able to find the length of that "string" (the number of digits) using a suitable standard library function. The second constructor is given two ints, so it should be able to find the number of digits in each, and therefore the length of the combined decimal number, by doing some calculations. However, if you want to change the length of a dynamic array allocated with 'new', you have to use 'new' to allocate a new array of the desired length, copy data as necessary from the old array to the
diredragon

Homework Statement

I am quite new to C++. I have completed my C course and am now taking a C++ course at my college. The first problem i encountered is with classes and custom made constructors. In the first part of the problem I am supposed to create a class with a field which is a dynamic char array for storing numbers like decimal ones. I am also forbidden to use anything but <iostream>. Here is the problem:
Create a class called Number which stores numbers in a dynamic array (number can be a decimal number) in a way that one digit is one array place. Number of digits is not limited. Implement the constructors Numbers::Numbers(char* nms); and Number::Number(int* part1, int* part2);, where part1 is left of the . and part2 right of the .

Homework Equations

3. The Attempt at a Solution [/B]
Code:
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class Number {
    char* numarr;

public:
    Number(char* nms) {
        numarr = nms; //Can i do this or do i need to know the length of nms and then allocate numarr?
    }
    Number(int* part1, int* part2) {
        //This is the hard part for me. How do i insert integers into an array digit by digit? Do i convert them to strings?
    }
};