Virtual Particles and nothingness

In summary, the concept of virtual particles emerging from and disappearing back into empty space is a common misconception. These particles actually exist as fluctuations in underlying quantum fields and do not come from nowhere. I suggest reading the provided article and series for a better understanding of virtual particles.
AnimaLife
According to what I have read and watched (I am new to the subject) the empty space is actually full of temporary virtual particulars that spontaneously and continuously emerge from nowhere and then disappear from the nothingness again but from where comes so much energy for so much creation of matter spontaneous?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
AnimaLife said:
According to what I have read and watched (I am new to the subject) the empty space is actually full of temporary virtual particulars that spontaneously and continuously emerge from nowhere and then disappear from the nothingness again but from where comes so much energy for so much creation of matter spontaneous?
I seems you have some basic misunderstandings here, probably caused by light weight pop science. Here is an article about it, which should answer most of your questions: https://www.physicsforums.com/insights/misconceptions-virtual-particles/

A forum search for "virtual, particles" should also result in plenty of existing threads you could read.

Likes bhobba
AnimaLife said:

I wouldn't say they come from 'nowhere' and then disappear into 'nothingness'. They exist as fluctuations in the underlying quantum fields that extend throughout space. Here's a good link for more information on virtual particles: https://profmattstrassler.com/artic...ysics-basics/virtual-particles-what-are-they/

I HIGHLY recommend reading the entire series on particle physics basics as well, otherwise the above information may not make much sense.

@Drakkith Thanks for the link - very clear stuff.

1. What are virtual particles?