Visual Interpretation of Advanced Electrodynamics

In summary, the speaker is a junior undergraduate physics major who is struggling with visualizing concepts in their electrodynamics class, specifically with dielectrics and spheres with constant potentials. They are looking for simulations or other visual aids to help them understand these concepts better. Suggestions include using diagrams, online simulations and tutorials, such as those found on the Physics Classroom, PhET Simulations, and Open Source Physics websites.
magiladd
Hello! I am a junior undergraduate physics major and I am very confused on how to visualize things in my electrodynamics class. Specifically, I am having issues with dielectrics and spheres with constant potentials etc. I usually notice that I am lost in a class when I can no longer draw out a question and what it is asking. Does anyone know of good simulations? I have gone through all the phet ones I can find.

Basically, I want to know what all the charges look like in these situations:
-Concentric spheres with a volume charge density between them where the inner sphere is kept at one potential and the outer sphere is kept at another potential. What does that look like? How does that even happen?
- a dielectric without a conductor has a free charge placed on it. What does the E-field look like? Inside the dielectric and outside of it. I read things like this and can't get past a free charge on a dielectric. How is the charge even placed there? I get too caught up in what is happening that I can't visualize anything.
- Literally, anything that would involve maybe a charge in a conducting sphere vs insulating/ and charges (free) near dielectrics without a capacitor. Really, anything that helped you visualize situations in this class. It is a two-semester class so we haven't gotten to currents or magnetic fields yet, but I think I am pretty good at that cause I can always visualize it.

Thank you I hope this question makes sense!