Voltage detection in electrical cables

In summary, the student is looking for a way to detect voltage on power transmission lines. The tester they are proposing uses magnetic fields or measuring the heat produce with Joule effect.
QuentinChe
Hello guys!
I am a student who currently works on a project based on electrical detection and voltage measurement in electrical cables remotly. So in order to accomplish my work, I'm seeki ng for new ways to detect voltage. I already have some ideas such as using magnetic fields or measuring the heat produce with Joule effect, but it isn't enough (for me at least :smile:) to make good comparaisons, so any ideas will be well welcomed!Quentin

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.
How far away is "remote" ?
What is the voltage ?
What is the current ?
Is the the current DC or AC, how many phases ?

Also, voltage means a difference in potential between two reference points.
In your project, if one point is a cable, what is the other point? Ground/Earth?
Or are you talking about voltage across a pair of cables?

Voltage does not create heat. Current does.

If you could figure out how to remotely measure voltage on 2 million km of power transmission lines world wide, you could be rich.

Likes dlgoff
hello and thank you all for your answers!

I should have been a little more precise, so here's all the informations. We want to make something (a glove or anything else we don't know yet) that will warn an electrician if there is still current flowing in the cable he's going to manipulate. Of course we are not going to work on high voltages instalation, we'll use circuit you can build at school and because it aims to be a modele of the national electricity grid, the current will AC but we haven't make any experiment yet so I can't give you any values (even though I think it will not be over 20V). And last, we don't need to have a 2 kilometer measuring radius, only enough to warn the electrician before he touches the wireQuentin