What can I do with a Physics BS besides engineering/CS....?

In summary, the individual is a rising sophomore pursuing a physics BS with a 3.75 GPA at a top 30 private university. They have worked as an undergrad research assistant and have realized that they enjoy studying physics but do not see themselves pursuing a PhD in the field. They are currently interested in careers in business, finance, and scientific journalism and are seeking internships in these areas. They are not interested in engineering, computer science, or education. The individual is seeking advice on alternative careers with a physics BS, any minors or additional classes that may be helpful, and whether or not they should continue majoring in physics.
dazzle
I am a rising sophomore pursuing a physics BS with 3.75 GPA at a top 30 private university.

After working in a lab as a undergrad research assistant, I realized that studying physics and doing physics is a completely different experience. While I love the subject matter, I can't imagine myself doing PhD research for the next x years after graduating,. It's solely an academic passion- I just like reading about it and doing problems because it's challenging and I'm not bad at it.

As of now, I'm interested business, finance, scientific journalism, etc. ; I'm trying to get internships in these areas. I'm not that interested in engineering, computer science, or education. I know this is a pretty impossible situation but...

1. What other careers can I consider with only a BS?
2. Any minors or additional classes that will help me get to where I want? I hear wall street hires PhDs but what about a BS?
3. Should I just NOT major in physics?
4. any advice appreciated

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF...