What constitutes a closed end in acoustic resonance in tubes

In summary, Matthijs created a speaker that creates a standing wave in a PVC tube. He was able to get resonances belonging to open-open end tube resonances and two interfaces in the tube formed a standing wave.
MatthijsRog
Dear all,

For my students, I'm currently trying out some experiments they can do to simulate acoustic processes. One of the topics that we will be discussing is that of standing waves.

Although I have never done it before--I come from a completely different background--I want to create standing sound waves in a PVC tube. I want to do this by placing a speaker, attached to a function generator, at one end of the tube so that the speaker can generate a "perfect" sine at any frequency the students may wish to experiment with.

Unfortunately, most of the online articles on acoustics are very basic and high school exam-oriented, which leaves me with some practical questions.

Say I put my speaker at one end, and leave the other end open. Will I get resonance belonging to typical acoustic open-open end tube resonances? That is, will my speaker function as an open end, or as a closed end? I'm not sure which one because on one hand, sound can reflect from it and on the other hand it's the obvious choice for an antinode.

And second question: would it be possible to put up two interfaces in the tube, so that a standing wave would form in between those two interfaces? I've done such experiments with light a few times (Fabry-Perot interferometers) but I'm not sure whether it would work with sound.

Thanks for the help in advance.

Matthijs

Physics news on Phys.org
MatthijsRog said:
Dear all,

For my students, I'm currently trying out some experiments they can do to simulate acoustic processes. One of the topics that we will be discussing is that of standing waves.