What courses do I need to take to work in a biophysics research lab?

• Thread starter bor0000
  • Start date
In summary, Ugrad Research-suggestions?? suggests that if you want to be published, doing something pure bio, like trying to figure out function of an ion channel, may not be the best idea. Additionally, if you want to do research next summer, you may need to take courses in quantum mechanics, advanced materials, and maybe optics.
bor0000
Ugrad Research-suggestions??

I want to do research next summer. That is i want to work in a lab of some professor at my school, and hope i could get something published(not applying for grad schools, but for dental school, so the subject doesn't matter to me). And so far my background is weak in all the subjects... I did take ode,vector calc, abstract linear algebra, and orgchem1,2,cell bio, cell metabolism, but that's it. This junior year, i can of course take some advanced courses, once i figure out what i want...
So:
1) would i have better luck(at being published) if i did something pure bio, like "trying to figure out function of an ion channel", or something more theoretical, like biophysics? i did work in my freshman year in a bio lab and did not really like it, but at least i knew their methods, i don't know anything about physics though.

2) let's say i want to do biophysics research. For example here are descriptions of some projects, that various researchers at my school are working on that i find interestng:
-Biophysical chemistry with emphasis on measuring macromolecular interactions in living cells using single photon and two-photon variants of image correlation spectroscopy (ICS) and image cross-correlation spectroscopy (ICCS)
Live cell measurement of macromolecular dynamics and clustering phenomena of green fluorescent protein (GFP) integrin constructs to study their role in assembly of cell adhesion structures and in receptor "cross-talk" with other signaling systems in cells.