What do the authors of the paper mean here exactly by path integral?

Andrewmiller5432
TL;DR Summary
The authors were talking about path integral peaking around a single semiclassical history in specific bottom up cosmologies and then went on to say it doesn't work because path integral is appropriate for quantum cosmologies
Hi, I am new here so apologies if i am not using the right subforum. I don't have a physics background so i am not very technical but i do have a little bit of understanding. I was reading this paper by hawking/hertog and came across something that ended up confusing me.

Here is it:

"Pre-big bang cosmologies [10] are examples of models that are based on a bottomup approach. In these models one specifies an initial state on a surface in the infinite past and evolves this forward in time. A natural choice for the initial state would be flat space, but that would obviously remain flat space. Thus one instead starts withan unstable state in the infinite past, tuned carefully in order for the big crunch/bigbang transition to be smooth and the path integral to be peaked around a single semiclassical history. Several explicit solutions of such bouncing cosmologies have beenfound in various minisuperspace approximations [14]. It has been shown, however, using several different techniques, that solutions of this kind are unstable [15, 16].