What Einstein said on faster than light travel

In summary, Einstein did not explicitly state the concept of time dilation in the way described in the conversation. However, the two postulates in his paper on Special Relativity provide a basis for understanding time dilation. It is also important to note that according to Special Relativity, no object with mass can reach the speed of light, making warp drive currently impossible.
EricjamesCADstudent
Hi, I'm a CAD student, writing a research paper for my English Comp. class on interstellar travel. I wan't to quote Einstein but can't find were he stated this exactly: Because space and time are relative, the faster you move through space the slower you move through time relative to someone who is stationary and as you move faster and faster you also gain more and more mass requiring more and more energy to accelerate, so that you would never be able to gain enough energy to move something as fast as something with no mass, such as light. Also, if you theoretically could reach the speed of light, time would completely stop for you and if you were to go faster than the speed of light, then time would actually start to go in reverse and you would travel backwards in time. Can someone point it out for me in his paper please, or find a quote otherwise? https://www.fourmilab.ch/etexts/einstein/specrel/www/

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
EricjamesCADstudent said:
I wan't to quote Einstein but can't find were he stated this exactly:

That's because he didn't, at least not anywhere I'm aware of, since not all of it is correct and some of it, while not exactly wrong, is not stated very well.

Because space and time are relative, the faster you move through space the slower you move through time relative to someone who is stationary

This is not a good way to think of time dilation, because "moving through time" implies that "time" is something absolute, and it isn't.