What electric motor do I need to rotate a platter that weighs 6 - 10lbs?

In summary, a DC motor that has torque of .34 Nm would be able to generate enough power to rotate a platter that weighs 6 - 10lbs.
Billygibson2
Would a DC motor that had torque of 0.34 Nm be able to generate enough power to rotate a platter that weighs 6 - 10lbs

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.
I guess it would be able to accelerate the platter, and then overcome friction when running.
The motor does not generate, it converts electrical energy into motion energy and heat.

Likes Billygibson2
I am not an engineer, and even far from an electrician, but I'm working on a project that spins a platter it holds about 9 lb and I need to build up enough speed to go only 40 to 60 RPMs with the platter. like I said about 9 lb total. Thank you for the note, and for any additional information that you can give me.

The distribution of the mass on the platter will determine the rotating inertia, and so how long the motor takes to accelerate the platter.

The torque from the motor will be proportional to the motor current.
With good bearings it should take little energy to keep things turning.

Will you have a speed reduction between the motor and the platter ?
How will you regulate the RPM once you get it spinning ?

As I am building this product, I am now finding the different things that I am incorporating to it. I've added a speed controller but I really need the proper motor to use. I have a DC 100w scooter motor I'm going to use, I was told that it had 0.34 Torque, and I wanted to know if I'm on the right rack with the motor I purchased?

Will you attach the motor's shaft directly to the turntable shaft? Or will you use something like this belt drive?
1644358746853.png

Or perhaps one where the motor shaft rubs against the turntable rim?
1644358858709.png

Key parameters are turntable RPM? motor RPM?

• Informative
Likes berkeman and Billygibson2
anorlunda said: