What I need for image processing programming?

In summary: Both programs have their own strengths and weaknesses, so it's best to try them both and see which one you prefer. As for programming language, it really depends on your project and what you are comfortable with. Some people prefer C, while others prefer Matlab or Python. Ultimately, it's important to choose the language that will best suit your needs and goals.
hilman
I am new to image processing and going serious from now on (as part of my research). I am a Mac user. What program is the best for image processing?

What the difference between Xcode and Microsoft Window Visual, which one is better and does OpenCV can works with both of them?
What kind of programming is the best for image processing? Is it C?

Technology news on Phys.org
It really depends on what you are doing and what you are comfortable with. Are Matlab and python too slow?

I don't really know actually. I am actually a beginner. From the look at it, maybe I will need to do it in C (based on my conversation with my lecturer since my senior is doing it in C if I am not mistaken). So, about the programming language itself, I think I can think about it later. But what is the difference between the Xcode and Microsoft Visual Studio? Really confuse right now. Is it one any better than other (if I want to do image processing on it)?

hilman said:
I don't really know actually. I am actually a beginner. From the look at it, maybe I will need to do it in C (based on my conversation with my lecturer since my senior is doing it in C if I am not mistaken). So, about the programming language itself, I think I can think about it later. But what is the difference between the Xcode and Microsoft Visual Studio? Really confuse right now. Is it one any better than other (if I want to do image processing on it)?

It doesn't matter if you use Xcode or Visual Studio, open-CV will work on both Windows and Mac.