What is the best academic path for pursuing a career in Nuclear Fusion?

In summary, the conversation discusses the choice between studying Applied Physics specializing in Nuclear Engineering or going straight into a Nuclear Engineering program. The speakers also mention the importance of studying Plasma Physics for fusion research, as well as the various areas of engineering and physics involved in fusion. They suggest that a strong background in Electricity and Magnetism, Mechanics, and Plasma Physics is necessary for success in fusion research.
Cen
I am currently in my first year of undergrad taking general science course classes with an undeclared Major. My dream is to work with Nuclear Fusion reactors, and i am at a bit of a loss at choosing Majors. Should I make my concentration "Applied physics specializing in Nuclear Engineering(or nuclear physics)," or just going straight into the Nuclear Engineering program my school offers which i have copy pasted the schools programs details below:
Nuclear engineering is firmly grounded in the understanding and application of modern physics. It has demonstrated vast potential for growth in power generation, medicine, industrial processes, plasmas, space technologies, and national defense.
Nuclear engineers at *University* contribute to such advanced technologies as fission and fusion power generators, new medical technologies and procedures, improved food safety, advanced materials processing, advanced imaging, and the safe treatment and disposal of spent nuclear fuel.

Applied Physics description from school: