What is the concept of per second per second? Like acceleration?

In summary, the concept of "per second per second" refers to acceleration, which is the change in velocity over time. It is often written as "meters per second per second" or "meters per second squared". Understanding this concept can be aided by real-life examples, such as a car's acceleration from 0 to 60 mph in 6 seconds. Additionally, the function Y can be found by taking its nth derivative, with Y'(0) = 1/2 and Y''(0) = 1/2.
jinkazama99
What is the concept of per second per second?? Like acceleration??

I'm in my final year of college and I'm struggling to get a clear idea on the concept of per second squared. I mean a meter per second yeah that's understandable, it's just mean your moving a meter per second, so 5 seconds later, you'll be 5 meters away from your starting point, but a meter per second per second? Can someone give me some examples please?? Thanks as usual :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org

Think of "meter per second per second" as "(meter per second) per second", not as "meter per (second per second)".

Acceleration is change in velocity (meters per second) in some amount of time (seconds). If at some point in time you're moving at 5 m/s, and then ten seconds later you're moving 25 m/s, then you've changed your velocity by 20 m/s in 10 s which gives an acceleration of 2 m/s per s, which we customarily write as 2 m/s2.

My brother tells a funny story about how when he first saw the phrase 10 meters per second per second he thought it was a typo.

I've found it helps some people to understand if you use different words. So an acceleration of 10 meters per second^2 means you velocity changes by 10 meters per second each second. Or think of an acceleration of (5 miles per hour) per second. This means you start motionless and 1 second later you are going at 5 miles per hour. Do these examples help?