What is the mechanism of heat transfer and air flow in coffee roasters?

In summary, the conversation discusses the process of convection in a coffee roaster and how it affects the beans. The heat is produced by gas burners and is absorbed by the incoming cold air as it passes through the burners. The hot air then enters the roasting chamber and transfers heat to the coffee beans, which absorb it through convective heat transfer. Increasing the air flow in the drum results in higher turbulence and a higher heat transfer, but there is a limit to how much air flow can efficiently transfer heat. Beyond that, increased air flow can cool down the beans. The conversation also mentions other factors such as IR heating and various terms related to heat transfer and turbulence.
Chemchampa
Hello,

I have here a complex question. My background is Chemistry and Optoelectronics. I wasn't the best when we were studying Thermodynamics at uni so I have some knowledge-gaps. Anyways, here is my problem.
Can somebody explain me the whole process of the convection in the coffee roaster. So here is the process (I present it very simply here leaving the space for the extensive explanations):
- the heat is produced by the gas burners (natural gas),
- incoming cold air passes through the burners and gets hot,
- hot air moves into the roasting chamber (rotating metal drum)
- then it enters roasting drum with coffee,
- the coffee absorbs the heat.
- the rest is clear to me : ]
I need to understand the process into great depth. I understand complex equations so feel free to drop some more sophisticated explanations.
My questions:
What is exactly the process of the heat absorption of the incoming cold air? How does it happen?
What does happen to the air moving into the roasting chamber (rotating metal drum)?