What is the need for KK-theories (and similar)

• Thread starter Matterwave
  • Start date
In summary: They can also have a longitudinal wavefield with a group velocity greater than c. The longitudinal wave has a phase velocity less than c, and the group velocity is greater than c.
Matterwave
Science Advisor
Gold Member
I'm not sure whether this question should go here or in the beyond the standard model forum...but I'll post it here since I think this question mostly pertains to general relativity.

The wikipedia article for Kaluza-Klein theory states: 'In physics, Kaluza–Klein theory (KK theory) is a model that seeks to unify the two fundamental forces of gravitation and electromagnetism."

I am no expert in KK-theory (obviously), but I was wondering what's the use for these types of theories?

Einstein's special relativity is fully compatible with E&M since Einstein especially formulated his theory to keep Maxwell's equation the same but modified Newton's equations. General Relativity is an extension of special relativity to non-inertial reference frames.

Is it not logical, then, that GR is fully compatible with E&M (we just take the covariant form of Maxwell's equations and take partial derivatives to covariant derivatives)? Why do we need some other theory to "unify" gravity and E&M then? Why can't we just use GR?

Physics news on Phys.org
Classical electrodynamics has four parts that I am aware of: Maxwell's equations, the Lorentz force, an orientation on the spacetime manifold, and the assumption that charge is associated with mass. The last is usually implicit, where the author of an article or text assumes the reader knows that electrons and other charged particles must have mass.

KK can associate mass with charged particles but also give mass to some photons. This may not be such a bad a thing, as the weak field bosons are massive.