What is the relationship between stress and pressure?

In summary: But yes, that's what I meant. In summary, stress is defined as force per unit area, specifically the internal force between particles in a material per unit area. Pressure is considered a type of stress, specifically an isotropic part of the stress tensor. The bulk and shear modulus are used in finding the rheological behavior of gases and most liquids. The concept of internal force as a restoring force depends on the situation, and in general, stress is a tensor with different components depending on the orientation of the area through a point in the body.
manimaran1605
I studied that Stress is defined as Force per unit area. Force here referred to internal force between the particles in the materials per unit area. am i right?

Is pressure a kind of stress? (Internal force per unit volume) for fluids but i have studied that pressure is external force per unit volume

Give me some example what is the use of finding Bulk and Shear modulus

Physics news on Phys.org
manimaran1605 said:
I studied that Stress is defined as Force per unit area. Force here referred to internal force between the particles in the materials per unit area. am i right?
Yes.
Is pressure a kind of stress? (Internal force per unit volume) for fluids but i have studied that pressure is external force per unit volume

Pressure is an isotropic part of the stress tensor.
Give me some example what is the use of finding Bulk and Shear modulus
Look up the general tensorial equation for a Newtonian fluid in a fluid mechanics book. This equation describes the rheological behavior of gases and most liquids.

Likes 1 person
Is that internal force is restoring force?If yes, Does that mean all internal forces are restoring forces?