What is the significance of commuting operators and CSCO in quantum mechanics?

• I
  • Thread starter fog37
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Operators
In summary, the CSCO provides a set of commuting observables that completely specifies the state of a system. If we have only two of the observables, we can determine the eigenvalues of the system by measuring the first observable. If we have more than two observables, we can determine the eigenvalues of the system by measuring the first observable and then locking in the other observables' values by using the principle of superposition.
fog37
Hello,

Today I am studying complete set of commuting observables (CSCO) which is a set of commuting operators, pair by pair, whose eigenvalues completely specify the state of a system. For example, given 4 different commuting observables, there is a set of eigenstates which are eigenstates for all the four commuting operators but the eigenvalues are clearly different.

It is said that the state $$|\Psi>$$ is completely specified by those commuting observables. But what about those observables that do not commute? I am sure that, for a particular system, there may be other observables that do not commute.
Isn't the truly complete state $$|\Psi>$$ of the system represented by a unit vector state in the Hilbert vector space that is the tensor product of all the Hilbert vector subspaces with each subspace associated to a different observable? It seems that all observables would be truly needed to give the most complete description...

I am sure there is something to tweak/correct in my understanding since I do not see how a set containing a finite number of commuting observables could give the most complete description of the state...

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
fog37 said:
Hello,