What makes a connecting rod turn a crank one way?

In summary, the problem is when the piston becomes fully retracted the connecting rod rests on the center of the wheel in the very middle. Whenever I restart the engine there is a chance that the connecting rod starts turning the wheel the other way and any propeller/impeller or other propulsion mechanism attached to it will then make the vessel go backwards.
HeavenFun
This may be the most awkward unexpected question ever concerning the reasoning for which I ask it.

I begin with explaining the reason because I think you should know why I ask this question to begin with so you can understand what underlying basic principle of this mechanic I want to understand. Namely the fundamentals of it and how it gets physically transferred internally.

I need to actually understand how it works rather then be told what makes it work.
I'm not a car mechanic and have never worked with combustion engines, pistons or cranks ever before in my life.

Reason: The reason for what I'm about to ask actually involves a video game that is called Kerbal Space Program. It is normally intended to build rockets and aircraft out of individual parts. Each of these parts having physics properties to them with which you can build vessels.

There is a holy grail in this video game to find methods of self sustaining physical generators by the use of a few parts and mechanical setups to basically cheat the physics engine of the game and create methods of propulsion with little energy or no energy input at all. You have to play the game for quite a while and be involved with the community to know how that could be done in the first place but there are already methods to do so just not working concepts to do much with it other then to build slow propeller aircraft.