What optocoupler can I use to drive a IRF840 Mosfet for LED lights?

• Thread starter Bartleboom
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mosfet
In summary, the user NelloBartleboom is new to electronics and is looking for an optocoupler to drive a Mosfet (IRF840) with a load of 220VDC 2A LED lights. They are unsure if they can use an optocoupler with transistor output due to the max voltage limitations and are seeking more information or resources.
Bartleboom
Good Morning,
I'm new to electronics. I'm looking for an optocoupler to drive a Mosfet (IRF840). The load is a 220VDC 2A LED lights. It should work like a switch.
Can I use an optocoupler with transistor output? I think I can't because the max voltage between emittor and collector is 70V and my load is 220VDC.
If you have some links or schematic where I can find infos please help me.

Thanks a lot.

Nello

Engineering news on Phys.org
Bartleboom, Welcome to Physics Forums!

Yes, you can use the IRF840 as your switch. Note that Mosfets have three teriminals named Source, Drain, and Gate. The IRF840 is rated to withstand a Maximum of 500 Volts Source-Drain potential difference. If you Google this part number you will find plenty of data sheets in pdf format. Check their applications notes on their last pages for examples.

Sure, you can use an optocoupler to drive the Mosfet. Good idea!

See: www.irf.com/technical-info/appnotes/an-937.pdf

Last edited:

Related to What optocoupler can I use to drive a IRF840 Mosfet for LED lights?

1. What is an optocoupler for IRF840 Mosfet?

An optocoupler for IRF840 Mosfet is an electronic component that uses light to transfer an electrical signal between two circuits. It is specifically designed to be used with the IRF840 Mosfet, a type of field-effect transistor.

2. How does an optocoupler for IRF840 Mosfet work?