Why Am I Stuck on My Root Locus Design Problem?

• Thread starter Kai-Itza
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Noob Root
In summary, The conversation discusses the design of a compensator for a position control system using the root locus point design method. The specifications for the system include a zero steady state error for a step input, a steady state error less than 4 for a unit ramp input, a percentage overshoot less than 5% for a step input, and a 2% settling time less than 10 seconds for a step input. The individual has been working on the exercise for 3 weeks and is stuck on finding the value of 'a'. They have calculated a value of 0.391 for 'a' and are unsure if this is correct.
Kai-Itza

Homework Statement

The Attempt at a Solution

Hi,

I’ve been studying Root Loci for almost 3 months now, on and off, so I know most of the methods involved with it. I’m still pretty much new to the subject still as I’ve recently hit a problem with this exercise that I’ve been working on for the past 3 weeks, I’ve spent most of the last and this week literally stuck on this particular part, and it’s driving me crazy!

I can’t just leave the thing as I’ll always have the cravings to come back to finish the job, as my curiosity for finding the answer will only grow.

Can someone help me out and end this torture?

Question:

systemlayout.jpg

“A position control system has a block diagram as shown above.
The plant is controlled by a Compensator, Gc(s) and variable gain, K
The Specification for the whole system is:-”

1. The Steady State error for a step input is zero
2. the steady state error for a unit ramp input is less than 4
3. the percentage overshoot for a step input is less than 5%
4. the 2% settling time for a step input is less than 10 seconds

Design a compensator and determine K. Use the root locus point design method.

What I’ve done so far…

the Plant is: S²+2S²+2S+1

I figured that the system compensator, Gc = (S+a)/S